Universities in South Africa

Welcome to Eduonline South Africa.

This is a concerted effort to document all tertiary institutions in South Africa including relevant Information for students both prospective and continuous. We believe education is the greatest catalyst to positive change. Gathering this data on tertiary institutions will help students and their guardians make informed decisions in fulfilling their educational goals.

Disclaimer : As much as we try to update the information database on daily basis. It is possible that we might miss some or delay in updating some content due to the sheer volume of articles. If you notice any incorrect data which might be correct at the time of writing, kindly contact us to make the necessary changes.

Best Wishes !

Eduonline.co.za has the list of all universities in South Africa. In 2004 South Africa started reforming the higher education system, merging and incorporating small universities into larger institutions, and renaming all higher education institutions as “university”.

There are also a large number of other educational institutions in South Africa – some are local campuses of foreign universities, some conduct classes for students who write their exams at the distance-education University of South Africa and some offer unaccredited or non-accredited diplomas. Universities and colleges are accredited by the Council on Higher Education.

Public universities in South Africa are divided into three types: traditional universities, which are academic in focus; universities of technology (“technikons”), which are more vocational; and comprehensive universities, which offer a combination of both types of qualification.

The Department of Higher Education and Training is responsible for tertiary education and vocational training, including Adult Basic Education and Training (ABET) centers. The nine provinces of South Africa also have their own education departments, which implement both national and local policies.

Traditional Universities: These Universities provide theoretically-oriented university degree programmes.

Universities of Technology (“Technikons”): These Universities provide vocational oriented diploma and degree programmes.

Comprehensive Universities: These Universities provide a combination of both traditional Universities qualifications and Universities of Technology qualifications.

13 South African universities are featured in the QS BRICS University Rankings 2019, a ranking of the best-performing universities in the five BRICS countries. And in the QS World University Rankings by Subject, South African universities show particular strength in the field of development studies, claiming five representatives in the global top 100 for this subject, including the University of Cape Town (11th) and the University of the Witwatersrand (19th).